Spring Skier

March 21, 2010

I’m not gonna lie, on Friday the thought of leaving the sunny 70 degree weather of NYC for skiing in Vermont did not appeal to me in the slightest. But the fact that we got stay in Mr.K’s friend’s newly remodeled slope side condo, eased the tension a bit. It was gorgeous, not to mention it’s a quick walk to the mountain.

I realized this weekend that I am a spring skier; my season should start in March and end in April. I don’t know if it was the super bright warm sun, my brand new shiny ski boots, or the fact that I was skiing comfortably in just a fleece, but my grimace melted away into a smile. This was a great weekend to ski! The mountain was not overly crowded, and my knee could handle the terrain with no problems. My welcome back to skiing could not have been more perfect.

Mr.K skied with me on the green bunny hill for two hours as I tested out my knee, and tried to get back into the groove of skiing. For me this weekend was the beginning and the end of my ski season, since I injured my knee on the second run of my season and haven’t seen a ski hill until this weekend. I was nervous driving up the mountain on Saturday, but by Sunday I was skiing down from the top with no problems. Mr. K and I ended the season on a great note, and now I’m ready to welcome in the spring!

March 21, 2010. Tags: , , . Travel.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

