CSA

Jan. 30, 2010

Lately I have been learning a lot about how my food choices are effecting the environment, where my food is coming from, and how it is being treated before it gets to my table. I am not really liking what I am finding out about the food I have been eating for the past 27 years of my life. I just finished reading Mark Bittman’s Food Matters book. He makes an interesting claim, encouraging individuals to participate in sane eating which basically means cutting out all junk and heavily processed food out of your diet, while cutting back on the amount of animal proteins consumed. According to him, your diet mostly consists of real whole grains, fruits, veggies, and legumes. But you can still have that ice cream, and crusty white bread, just as long as you aren’t consuming them for breakfast lunch and dinner.

After watching Food Inc. I pretty much wanted to give up meat all together, but instead Mr. K and I are going to join a farm with a community supported agriculture (CSA) program. I found this amazing website locagharvest.org where all you need to do is enter your zip code and it gives you a list of CSAs in your area. Hopefully we will be able to get into one of them that offers meat too! Mr. K’s mom brought a whole freezer of grass fed beef back from Texas, so eating animals in a humane way is possible, you just gotta get a little creative.

CSAs provide you with the freshest possible produce, reduce carbon footprint, and support the local agriculture what could be better than that!

January 30, 2010. Tags: , , , . Cooking, Jersey City.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

