Soup and Toxic Potatoes

Jan. 24, 2010

I have a problem, I go to the grocery store buy a bunch of produce, don’t end up cooking half of it and it rots. So to remedy this problem I decided to make some soups!

I pried my semi hungover self off the couch and got cooking. Back in the beginning of January I was up in Vermont and had this really good sausage, kale and potato soup. I decided to recreate that recipe with whatever I could find in my fridge. So I channeled my inner Julia Child and got to cooking.

 I realized that my Yukon gold potatoes had turned green. Not thinking much of the random color change I started chopping them up to put in the soup. The green was not just on the outside but on the inside too. This got me worried since it did not look like a “yum eat me I’m healthy green” – it was more of a toxic looking green. So I googled green Yukon gold potatoes, and found out that it is not such a grand idea to eat them when green. Exposure to light causes them to change color – one article even said that eating green potatoes can be toxic! Needless to say the entire bag went straight into the garbage. I guess a good rule of thumb is if more that half the potato is green get rid of it!

Luckily, I did not cook up poison soup, it  actually turned out pretty good, very rustic looking with all the wilted kale. I even added a little quinoa for some added texture.

Today’s learning experience: Green potatoes are not good potatoes.

January 25, 2010. Tags: , . Cooking.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

