Family Dinner

Jan. 19, 2010

There is a tradition that goes back about 5 years ago back when CM and I were still using cardboard boxes as living room furniture. This tradition is family dinner with J&A. It all started one cold night at Firenze, a welcoming Italian restaurant near the old apartment on the UES. I remember it being my first dinner where I felt like an adult living it up in NYC with confidence and passion. There have been many inspiring, intelligent and hilarious conversations over the years.  While the restaurant has changed the people and conversations have remained the same – with one exception, the addition of Mr. K. I believe that Mr. K joined in on the dinners even before he was officially family – which looking back on it means a lot.

It meant a lot to me that my family and friends approved of and respected Mr. K, and of course of our relationship. Being in a relationship you can have blinders, only seeing the good and blacking out the bad. In NYC it’s easy to get caught up in the look where he taking me/what he’s buying me/he has an awesome across the hall from Donald Trump mumbo jumbo. So easy that you might not notice how you only see him once a month, he never actually picks up the phone to call you and ignores all your e-mails. So needless to say it felt amazing when my friends then family welcomed Mr. K in with open arms, ensuring that my blinders were off. I hope that this is the one thing in our relationship that continues to remain the same.

As I look back over the years and notice all of the changes that have affected all of our lives, it is nice to know that this one night out of the year has remained the same. A familiarity that is only offered in the presence of family.

January 20, 2010. Newly Wed Notes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

