Resolution

Jan. 1, 2010

My New Year’s resolution is to assertively communicate what I want.

I realized that while I may voice what I want, or what I would like to happen, I rarely do it in a way that commands the attention of others. I have always had a hard time having people hearing me. In high school I would make a suggestion, and it would be ignored. Then one of my friends would say the exact same thing 5 minutes later, and everyone would love it.

I have noticed this happening on the past few mini vacations I have taken with Mr. K. I suggest an activity that I would like to do,  but don’t really push for it to happen come vacation time. Then I resent the vacation because none of it was spent doing what I had hoped. Instead of changing my behavior, I rant to Mr.K, and then write my rantings in this blog exclaiming how horrible the past weekend was.

I saw myself almost repeat this with the upcoming Vermont trip. Instead of meekly voicing my opinion, I made Mr. K agree that he would spend some time with me doing the following activities, so I wouldn’t spend the entire weekend alone in some seedy motel:

  1. Sledding
  2. Snowshoeing or cross country skiing

He has agreed, so now it’s up to me to follow through.

January 4, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

