Knife School

Dec. 9, 2009

Tonight Mr. K and I attended Knife Class at the Culinary Center in the Whole Foods on Bowery.  The class was held the Center’s very intimate and chic kitchen. We all sat around the prep area, in what I like to call sushi style.

In the past three days I have sliced two fingers and three fingernails on my left hand – so I figured this class was mandatory. We learned and practiced several cuts ranging from a julienne to a brunoise. I also learned the correct way to hold a knife. The awesome thing about knife class is that while you are cooking you are also making a gourmet dinner. Tonight’s menu was citrus salad, glazed root vegetables, and sole au pouchette with tomato compote, leeks and thyme. It was delicious! And now I can go home and make it!

December 11, 2009. Cooking.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

