Gourmet Day #2

Nov. 29, 2009

Today I attempted to make my second fancy pants dinner. Today’s delight is Pork Tenderloin with Apple Chutney, Lemon Asparagus, and Potatoes au Gratin.

The challenges of this dinner were the Potatoes and the Pork loin. I bought a 4 pound pork loin at the store, even thought the recipe called for a 1 pound loin, but that was the smallest one they had. According to the recipe I had to cut my little disks of pork from the big pork roll, so I decided to cut what I wanted and freeze the rest to use later.

I put my new awesome knives to work and proceeded to hack away at the meat. immediately my mind flashed back to all the episodes of Top Chef that I have watched where the judges accuse the contestants of hacking up the meat – I try very carefully to cut my pork uniformly. I’m pretty sure I did a halfway decent job – they all seemed to cook at about the same time.

Now for the potatoes. I don’t think I have ever eaten au gratin potatoes from scratch, so I have nothing to compare them to besides the watery boxed potatoes that my mom used to make when I was a kid. Then there was the fact that none of the grocery stores/bodegas within 10 minutes of my house seemed to carry Gruyère cheese, but queso blacho is very popular. So I settled on gouda, which can be very smokey. The potatoes turned out very well, nice and crunchy on top and a nice dense cheese sauce that was tangy but not smokey.

This meal was a lot easier to time out than the last one. I made the potatoes first and while they were in the oven, I worked on cooking everything else. When the potatoes were done they just chilled in the oven till everything else was done. My apple chutney sauce was thick and appley, and complimented the pork very well. Overall the dish came out very well and all the components were ready at the same time. It was very tasty, despite the unappetizing look of the picture!

December 2, 2009. Cooking.

One Comment

  1. mr k replied:

    It was so yummy!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

