Going to NYC

Nov. 27, 2009

One of the biggest challenges of living in Jersey City when all of my friends live in Manhattan is: going out. It’s easy meeting them for happy hour after work, or going out on a Friday night. The challenge is getting back to Jersey City. When I drink I have a problem of keeping track of time. This wasn’t such a problem when most of our happy hour spots were a quick cab ride away from my Gramercy apartment.  Now that I have a nice 1-1.5 hour commute those  “ooooops how did it get so late” late night happy hour don’t quite work for me. Especially since a cab to Jersey City isn’t an option.

The other challenge that I face is finding the motivation to leave the NJ apartment and commute to the city to go out on the weekends.

Up until tonight I was terrified that all of my going out commutes would mimic the 2 hour Halloween commute. But tonight Mr. K and I put on our brave faces and journeyed into the city. We were both pleasantly surprised that it took only 20 minutes to get from our door to the WTC path! And then another 10 to reach our final destination in Tribeca.

So maybe this will be a blessing instead of a curse. It will get me and my friends away from going to the same old bars in the same old locations, and into new swankier digs. Tribeca is an unexplored local for me, and SOHO is just minutes away. This whole commuting from Jersey City thing could be much more entertaining than ever expected.

December 2, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

