California Girl

Nov. 10 -14, 2009

This past week I visited my friends CB and MM out in Cali. Here are a few snippets from my trip:

Nov. 10, 2009: San Diego with CB

CB lives not too far from the hotel I was staying at in San Diego with his charming boyfriend LP. CB picked me up from the hotel and we all went out to dinner at this Thai place near their apartment. We chatted about our lives and LP’s blossoming career as a DJ (he’s DJing the Miss. California pageant). After we ate some good Thai we went back to their swanky apartment and watch some Biggest Loser, while I desperately tried not to fall asleep on the couch. At this point I was exhausted from conference. CB told me he would wake me up so we could eat breakfast before I left for San Francisco and he left for work. At about 6:45 am I got a knock on my door and in came CB with my breakfast in bed! He roamed between his room and my room while we ate and chatted. Then he left for work and I decided I would go for a run in Balboa park before my flight.

Nov. 11, 2009 Mid afternoon – Berkeley

I hopped on the BART that I hoped would take me to Berkeley where I am meeting MM! Yay, time of a little quality girl time! My San Fran/Berkeley vacation with MM was awesome! We roamed all over the place and got to really catch up on each others lives. We both have a lot going on at the moment, it was fun being able to learn about what is going on in her life.

After we settled in cute her apartment we decided to go to this fun grocery store and buy some food for the rest of my stay. I am jealous of her grocery store – I want to steal it and bring it back to NJ. That night we decided to experiment and make some quinoa, neither of us has made it before but I have heard it’s real healthy and wanted to try it. Well, our recipe was a success and after a few beers we headed out into Berkeley for some al fresco beers, and later in the evening met up with an old running buddy of hers.

Nov.12, 2009 – Mt. Tam

We decided that today is our hiking day in the redwoods. MM know a great hike on Mt. Tam so we rented a car and drove out to Stenson beach and started our hike. The forest was gorgeous – right out of the Lord of the Rings. It was not too challenging but I got to get out and stretch my legs. After our hike we ate our picnic lunch and figured out dinner plans. We drove into the city for dinner and went ot Burma Super Star, which was soooo amazingly good! I had never eaten Burmese food before – I was missing out. Then exhausted from our hike we drove back home.

Nov. 13, 2009: San Fransisco

MM had to work today, her students had an exam so I decided I would head into the city and be tourist for the day. I walked over to Fisherman’s Wharf took pictures of Alcatraz and the sea lions, and of course has some clam chowder in a bread bowl. Then I walked over to Lombard street walked to the top and took a few photos there of the crooked street and the city skyline. After that I climbed some really huge hills and somehow wandered over to the Tenderloin (the “ghetto”), found BART and went back to Berkeley to take a yoga class. We had sushi for dinner with MM’s sister, who I have not seen in forever and her BF at a yummy restaurant in Oakland. Then we headed back to Berkeley and went to a brew pub for one more drink.

Nov. 14, 2009: Wine Country!

MM’s BF let us borrow his car and we headed out to Sonoma’s dry creek area for some tasty wine and leftovers from our picnic. The area is gorgeous! Rolling hills, huge estates and vines turning colors in the autumn sun. We first headed to the Michel-Schlumberger winery. They were having their annual pig roast to release their cochon sauvages Zin, but they managed to fit us in for a tasting. Their tasting room is unique, you sit at tables instead of fighting your way to a bar. They have a really beautiful porch/lawn area as well. After MM and I samples our very large pours of vino we headed to another vineyard. Quivira was was up next on the wine tour. Here we sampled some Zin which what is primarily grown in this area. The tasting room was more traditional and very crowded when we arrived. We found a spot at the bar and tasted some Zins, some grenaches and some blends, finished our picnic took some pictures with the chickens and headed back to the city.

Going back into the city we drove over the Golden Gate bridge, which is huge and really neat to see up close. Then we met some of MM’s friends at a Alembic, whiskey bar in the Haight. The drink menu here was really complex and really delicious! We hung out here talked weddings, wedding dress discounts, and ate bone marrow. Then we headed ot the next bar for beers, pizza and fernet (which is supposedly the next big thing in booze, and tastes like toothpaste). 9 pm came way too soon and it was time for me to head to the airport for my red eye back to NJ and Mr. K.

My trip to Cali was perfect, I got to do everything I wanted, with the exception of eating a San Fran burrito, which remains on the list. I got to hang out with my friends and see new cities. What more can you ask for?

November 18, 2009. Tags: , . Travel.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

