Trip without Mr. K

Nov. 4, 2009 

Today I started packing for my work trip to San Diego. Every year my company puts on a huge conference in a different city. This year’s city is sunny San Diego. I fly out early Friday morning, but I want to pack tonight,  so I can actually relax tomorrow night before I leave. As I was packing I began to realize that this will be the first time Mr. K and I will be away from each other for more than a day or two since we have been married. My conference ends on Tuesday, but I am spending the rest of the week in Cali visiting  my west coast friends that I rarely get to see. 

I’m really excited to spend some time with CB and MM, but it’s a long time to be away from Mr. K. Not to mention that conference is a very stressful event, it’s a lot of crappy hotel food, and living out of a suitcase. The longest Mr. K and I have been away from each other was about two and a half weeks, when he went on his cross country ski trip out west. Usually the first 3-5 days aren’t bad, depending on how busy I am, But conference usually takes a toll on me and its hard going back to a empty hotel room. 

My favorite time of the day is at night when Pete and I talk about random things, whether its about what we want to do that weekend, what we are trying to accomplish in our lives, or  what happened that day. It’s nice to have that support every night before I go to sleep. When I don’t have that, it creates this empty unstable space. I am going to miss  having my nice comforting, reassuring night time chats.

November 17, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

